Archie, Volume One: The New Riverdale is fresh, funny, and true to the characters I know and love

25852959
Archie, Volume One: The New Riverdale by Mark Waid
★★★
Genre: Graphic Novel
Pages: 176
Publisher: Archie Comic Publications
Publication Date: March 29, 2016
Review Source: Purchased copy
Archie, Volume One: The New Riverdale is an adaptation on the classic Archie series. Jughead, Betty, and Veronica are all back at Riverdale High, and Mark Waid has succeeded in staying true to the personalities loved by generations of readers, while also modernizing the Archie universe, making it more accessible to a new generation of Archie readers.

Archie made me nostalgic: for my old high school days and for the old Archie comics I used to read at the cottage in the summer. I was engaged and read through this pretty quickly considering I never got to sit down with it for more than 5 or 10 minute at a time. I didn’t want to put it down. Unfortunately, now I have to, because Volume Two isn’t on my shelf (yet).

The art is great. I feel like Archie got an HD upgrade! I am particularly fond of Fiona Staples’ work. Overall, I am impressed by the cohesiveness of the three different artists’ styles. While remaining distinct, the changing styles were not jarring or unwelcome.
This edition includes some special features in the back which include a Cover Gallery, a spread explaining how the Archie graphic novel was made, and an afterword from Mark Waid. There is also a preview of Jughead: Volume One by Chip Zdarsky, but I have to say, it didn’t grab me nearly as much as Archie had.

I recommend Archie to fans of the original series, to middle grade readers and up, and to those who enjoy comic books.

Leave a Reply

